Development Control

On Wednesday (17th August) I sat on the committee that decides major
planning applications. This was a very interesting meeting, where party lines
are thrown out of the window and most of the time common sense prevails with
Liberals, Labour and Conservatives quite often agreeing!

Being the sort of person that I am(!) I disagreed with a few of the
proposals and my colleagues standing up for the individual’s right for privacy
and also spoke out about the proposed big display screen just off Southend High
Street, saying that I thought it was a great idea as long as the necessary
protection was in place for local residents. – I’d love to watch England in a
World Cup Final just off the High Street (well okay, I’d love to watch England
in a World Cup Final whilst almost anywhere – and I’m not even that into football!)

Next week I am sitting on the special Development Control meeting to decide
about Tesco at the old B&Q site (near Southend Victoria). I’d love to hear
what residents of Blenheim and elsewhere in the town think about it? I haven’t
made my mind up yet having only just received the papers and can’t make any
comments on it for fear of preventing myself from being able to vote (odd
system that applies all over the country!).

Please add a comment here or email me: cllrcourtenay@southend.gov.uk
if you’d like to let me know your thoughts.

Background information is available here: http://planning.southend.gov.uk/PublicAccess/tdc/DcApplication/application_detailview.aspx?caseno=LDS09LPA04S00

About jamescourtenay

Local Southend resident, since before I can remember. I am hoping to represent the residents of Blenheim Park Ward after the May 2011 Local Elections. Straight Talking? - Yes. Approachable? - Yes. Accountable? - Yes. See my blog to find out how!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Development Control

  1. If I can offer you any advice (other than to change your politics) I would suggest that you read this – http://www.amazon.co.uk/Shopped-Shocking-Power-British-Supermarkets/dp/0007158041

    I use supermarkets, Tescos even. But there is no denying that they are killing off local shops and are creating a homogenised landscape in our high streets.

  2. Tescos have a number of stores in our town already. If it was me I would like to see them close one before they be allowed to open another.

  3. A new tesco tends to close down local shops near-by, there are a number of small local shops almost directly next to the proposed site, which provide jobs, and company ownership to local people, ensuring the profit for the shops stay locally for the benefit of the area, not Tesco nationally – these would shut very quickly if it were to open – I’m thinking clives, the corner shop at the bottom of the victoria and the parade of shops on sutton road.

    The size of the proposed tesco is staggering – it’s larger than the largest tesco in the country (the one in Pitsea) this would have an impact on other local shops, and the victoria shopping centre (which is struggling to fill all the units anyway) because tesco’s of these size are not just supermarkets but department stores stocking everything dirt cheap.

    I would urge opposing this development, it’s too big, too damaging to the local community and will strangle out all competition in the locality leading to an entirely dead town centre with even less character and even less competing businesses, and even more of an indentikit town feel than it already has.

    Tesco has offered to build a number of units of social housing, this seems like a good thing, but we know from past experience locally, and in other places, these are unlikely to actually be built, and the council will probably be powerless or unwilling to hold tesco to account when they fail to build them.

    Support the local economy, support local businesses, support diversity in the town, oppose the tesco.

Leave a Reply

