A great opportunity to give more back to the town I love

The Leader of the Council, Nigel Holdcroft has asked me to join his team (the cabinet). I am delighted to have been appointed to take on such a prominent role within the Council and taking responsibility for Children and Learning.

I am pleased to be taking over from Mark Flewitt, my colleague in St Laurence ward, at a time when, whilst our budgets may be shrinking , as a council the standards of education are improving across our town as are the services we provide to those most in need.

It will be a difficult financial next few years ahead, but also exciting with the likely development of a new primary school within the town.

As someone born and bred in Southend, I’m really happen that I can play my part in the administration of our town, especially in the educational provision of our future generations. I hope my appointment confirms to our youngsters that hard work and determination can pay off.

With secondary, primary and special schools, nurseries and a Sure Start centre, my appointment to the cabinet in this capacity can only be good news for the residents of Blenheim Park.

It was only announced today: http://www.southend.gov.uk/news/article/740/leader_announces_his_cabinet_for_201213 so I look forward to spending the next few days finding out about all what I’ve let myself in for!

I remain, as I always have, first and foremost committed to the residents of Blenheim.

About jamescourtenay

Local Southend resident, since before I can remember. I am hoping to represent the residents of Blenheim Park Ward after the May 2011 Local Elections. Straight Talking? - Yes. Approachable? - Yes. Accountable? - Yes. See my blog to find out how!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A great opportunity to give more back to the town I love

  1. Congratulations James

Leave a Reply

