Diamond Jubilee Celebrations

I’ve realised it has been a little while since I’ve updated this site again. It was an active Diamond Jubilee – my thanks to my two fellow ward councillors for presenting every primary school child with a special commemorative medal, most of which were presented whilst I was on holiday the week before the bank holiday weekend. Although I will be presenting the last few medals next week hopefully!

 

On Monday 4th June I attended the Leigh Beacon lighting where there was a BBQ, bouncy castle, musical celebrations of various types before the beacon was lit. A good evening was had by all I believe – and I do hope the Church Wardens have let the Rector come back, as he must have been sent to Northern Scotland before they let anyone know they were going to put a flame on top of his  church (some parts of which are over 600 years old!)

On the Tuesday Bank Holiday I attended the Diamond Jubilee Cricket Festival… unfortunately the weather wasn’t great, but it was great to see the Unicorns enjoying themselves at Southend and I hope they return in the not to distant future to play more cricket at our Garon Park ground.

About jamescourtenay

Local Southend resident, since before I can remember. I am hoping to represent the residents of Blenheim Park Ward after the May 2011 Local Elections. Straight Talking? - Yes. Approachable? - Yes. Accountable? - Yes. See my blog to find out how!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

