Police, taxi drivers and politicians

Having been both a policeman and currently a politician, I can say that the third aren’t that bad… certainly not members of the Mafia.

As a police officer I found it rather more alarming and distressing when someone thrust a knife towards me, rather than calling me a pleb, one engaged in an act of coitus bliss or not! I’d find a Cabinet Minister being required to ask me for a cup of tea and apologising to me and my Commissioner more than recompense, compared to the probation and a few hours community service for the aforementioned knife wielder!

Southend taxi drivers – fairly nice bunch I’ve found, they normally drop me off somewhere sober and even manage to return me home in not quite such a sober state. They’ve never turned around to me and called me a pleb, a tory **** or such like. They have acted in a professional manner. Until such time as they offend me, put a horse’s head in my bed or something similar, I plan to treat them with such respect as any profession deserves. I certainly won’t be standing up in the council chamber and calling them members of the mafia!

About jamescourtenay

Local Southend resident, since before I can remember. I am hoping to represent the residents of Blenheim Park Ward after the May 2011 Local Elections. Straight Talking? - Yes. Approachable? - Yes. Accountable? - Yes. See my blog to find out how!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

