Full Council meeting – a busy evening ahead. The Deanes School, children’s centres and all-up elections

Long day today. Got to work ‘nice’ and early so I could leave to get back for a full Council meeting this evening.

There is plenty on tonight’s agenda, and I suspect the odds are about even whether we will finish the wrong side of midnight or not!

Three things I will be heavily involved in this evening:

The Deanes School – I, along with West Leigh ward councillor Nigel Holdcroft who is seconding the motion, and I hope 49 other councillors will be looking to send a strong message back to Essex County Council about their plan to close the school. Put bluntly – don’t do it!

Children’s Centres – the matter of the way to save the last bit of the 224k a year from the children’s centre budget has been referred up to full Council. I will be leading the debate on this difficult topic.

All-up elections – Something I will be speaking about, urging my colleagues from all political parties to support. It offers stability, the ability for the ‘winner on the night’ to form the next Administration,  but most importantly it offers savings of at least £50k a year without affecting front line services. Given the cutbacks local government faces at the moment I think this is a good way of making a saving – it’s hardly trying to create a tin pot dictatorship if parliament, the London Assembly the most powerful man in the world, Barack Obama and even BoJo can be elected for at least as long as suggested for Southend Borough Council!

Match sticks at the ready for work tomorrow!

About jamescourtenay

Local Southend resident, since before I can remember. I am hoping to represent the residents of Blenheim Park Ward after the May 2011 Local Elections. Straight Talking? - Yes. Approachable? - Yes. Accountable? - Yes. See my blog to find out how!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

