Bank Holiday weekend part 1

Good opportunity to do some things around Southend this weekend – and put off writing my next newsletter – so on Saturday morning (rather too early for my liking) I joined the Prittle Brook litter pickers for a couple of hours of a clean up along the brook. They meet twice a month – Saturday and Wednesday – to do the length of the brook from Elmsleigh Drive all the way to Prittlewell Chase. We collected quite a lot of rubbish (as usual!)

20140823_112100

Saturday afternoon was the time to wish I had listened that little bit harder in my geography lessons or at least taken an OS map with me, as we walked from my house (Southchurch) into Barling/Little Wakering and then decided that it was a good idea to follow the Google Maps footpath. Well I would like to apologise to the farmer for traipsing across his field when the footpath ran out, wipe the sweat from my brow that the golf ball that came flying past my head didn’t connect and thank the two gentleman who were about to tee-off for directing me on a safe path to get back to Southend across the golf course.

Then yesterday it was time to go down to the pier and have a cup of tea and cake at the cafe in the Royal Pavilion – a wonderful building at the end of the pier, hosting all kinds of functions – there was a private table set up for yesterday evening where I can only assume, by the look of the happy couple that had just stepped off the train, a proposal was about to take place. I do hope she said yes!

At the very end of the pier there were the officials for a barge race, so a nice view of some boats too:

20140824_161456

About jamescourtenay

Local Southend resident, since before I can remember. I am hoping to represent the residents of Blenheim Park Ward after the May 2011 Local Elections. Straight Talking? - Yes. Approachable? - Yes. Accountable? - Yes. See my blog to find out how!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bank Holiday weekend part 1

  1. I am still waiting for that e-newsletter!

Leave a Reply

