Nelson Road resurfacing – why the need for a lack of sleep?!

Oh dear oh dear….

While I’m delighted that we are getting some improvements to the carriage way in Nelson Road, it seems the timing of this couldn’t have been any worse.

Residents have contacted me this morning to ask whether there was really any need for them to be kept awake all night last night and why three days of resurfacing was to be followed by night time works (tonight as well at the moment). That sounds like a good question to me and one I’ve put to the top council’s Highways department today!

Councillors receive notice of all works that are going to take place in their ward and I had received notice of this. The initial notice informed me of 5 days closure (the council also notifies residents that are going to be affected separately as well as advertising the closure locally). What I did not realise was when a revised notice was sent to me there was a slight amendments which had 3 days worth of closures and 2 nights!

Carrying out scheduled resurfacing overnight in a residential area is not something I want to see happening. Emergency repairs, like those I got the council to undertake back in June 2012 on Elmsleigh Drive, are quite different – when the road is falling apart and urgent action is needed, then overnight work may be needed – but this was not an emergency repair.

I’ve asked why this has taken place and will do all I can to ensure that the Administration now running the council does something to prevent this from happening again!

About jamescourtenay

Local Southend resident, since before I can remember. I am hoping to represent the residents of Blenheim Park Ward after the May 2011 Local Elections. Straight Talking? - Yes. Approachable? - Yes. Accountable? - Yes. See my blog to find out how!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nelson Road resurfacing – why the need for a lack of sleep?!

  1. I live in Nelson Road. The overnight works did not disturb my sleep at all.

Leave a Reply

