Most improved primary (KS2) results in the country

I’m currently on holiday (one of the advantages of not having children – I can go outside of school holidays)… although my house is not empty or I wouldn’t be posting that fact!

Anyway – I break from my hols to post, via Tesco in Plymouth (for the free WiFi – other free WiFi available I’m sure), the news that Southend’s primary schools have (back in June) recorded the best improvement in the country in KS2 Sats (that’s 11 year olds/Year Six pupils). I’m really pleased that the hard work, determination and most of all the partnership working (a phrase overused, but not often truly carried out!) between schools and council officials who have assist them to improve has been fruitful. Our primary schools are now going from strength to strength, setting Southend’s children up for the transition to secondary school – be in comprehensive, selective or faith.

It also goes to show, that I was right, even under the severe criticism (and frankly sometimes abuse) from the other side of the council chamber, to take the difficult decisions and offer my officers the support they needed to make rapid improvements to our results in a short time.

The new(ish) portfolio holder has been left an education system on the up and up – primary and secondary results improving, Ofsted inspections classifying more and more of our schools as good or outstanding and an increasing number of Southend children going to our grammar schools. I hope she continues the good work so Southend can really be a shining beacon on the education map.

Story reported by the Echo here (and no, I did not say “me and my officers”!!): http://www.echo-news.co.uk/news/11474822.Southend_schoolkids_have__most_improved__test_results_in_whole_country/

About jamescourtenay

Local Southend resident, since before I can remember. I am hoping to represent the residents of Blenheim Park Ward after the May 2011 Local Elections. Straight Talking? - Yes. Approachable? - Yes. Accountable? - Yes. See my blog to find out how!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Most improved primary (KS2) results in the country

  1. Anne J says:

    I sincerely hope that the honourable mention I receive as ‘newish portfolio holder’ , is in no way connected with the less honourable ‘abuse’ complaint. I hope that you know that is not and will never be my style. AJ.

    • Just catching up Anne? Nearly two months ago that post!

      There was always the possibility you could be the next portfolio holder, so you at least tried to make sensible arguments (you even succeeded sometimes!). Those who didn’t have that worry were rather less concerned about being coherent…

  2. Anne J says:

    I was enticed to your blog, by the fashion tips on the most recent posting.

Leave a Reply

